Monday, 30 December 2013

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place

“It was not Miss Penelope Lumley’s first journey on a train, but it was the first one she had taken alone.”

Miss Penelope has come from Agatha Swanburne’s Academy for Poor Bright Females. She is a grade ahead of all the other pupils there, so she is chosen to go on and become a governess. Governess for three incorrigible children: Beowolf, Alexander and Cassiopeia. Ashton Place is a big hall, home to Frederick Ashton, his frivolous new wife Lady Constance and the children. The incorrigible children were found living with wolves in the forest. Frederick Ashton wants to keep them, because he thinks it is “Finders keepers”. But Lady Constance doesn’t want to keep them because she thinks they are so bad. Penelope manages to make them wear clothes and brings them up in a bit less woolfish ways.

The writing is somewhat peculiar but very, very funny in places. There is an exciting plot but sometimes the writer enjoys ranting on about stuff like poems. This is good and bad, but mostly good because it makes it feel as if the writer is having fun.

I would like to ask Maryrose Wood if she felt a little bit naughty about spreading the story over several books instead of each book having a proper ending? It does make you want to read the next one!

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place books are written by Maryrose Wood, and are published by Balzer and Bray: The Mysterious Howling, The Hidden Gallery and The Unseen Guest. I am waiting to read The Interrupted Tale. These books are for anyone aged 6 upwards who likes squirrels, poetry and wise sayings.


Maryrose Wood replies:

Maryrose Wood (or should that be Maryrose Woooooo) replies: 
Please tell Nona that yes, I did feel a bit naughty writing the books, and also had quite a lot of fun! 

No comments:

Post a Comment


Alongside The Executioner's Daughter, Rooftoppers is still possibly the best book of all. Click on Older Posts to read about it.